Oh my stars!

I created a whole pile of stary cards today. I had yet to use my Simon Says Stamp Stacked Stars die or my Hero Arts Star Confetti die. I made 3 different card designs, but did 4 of each design. I have to be honest, I was inspired by the Twinkle stamp set by CAS-ual Fridays – which is going to be retired soon (read: get it while you can!).

card1

For the first card, I cut a white cardstock panel and used Wild Honey, Mustard Seed and Squeezed Lemonade distress inks. Using the Confetti Die from Hero Arts, I cut a white cardstock panel to lay over my yellow blended panel. I selected the sentiment and white heat embossed it on a strip of black cardstock that I then cut into a banner shape. Using foam tape, I adhered it to my card front.

card2.PNG

Using a few of the stars that were leftover from the white cardstock, I used my Spectrum Noir shimmer pen on the star and then glossy accents to give it some dimension.

card3.PNG

For the second card design I used the same distressed ink colors and used the Stacked Stars to cut the image out of the panel. I knew I was going to do a die inlay technique so I made sure to keep the stars in order when I pulled the cut image out of the die. Using the same die, I cut it out of white cardstock. I simply discarded the white stars (who am I kidding – I am a crafter and kept all those tiny stars for future projects!) and kept the white outline of the image. I glued the white outlined image back onto the inked card panel. Then I inserted all the tiny yellow stars back into the image in order. Again, I white heat embossed my sentiment on black cardstock, added some stars that were enhanced with shimmer pen and glossy accents. The entire panel was adhered to a top folding note card with foam tape to give the panel some dimension.

card4.PNG

Since I had beautiful ombre yellow star outlines leftover from the card above, I wanted to put them to good use! Here is my third card design.

card5.PNG

I simply glued the yellow star outlines to a black cardstock panel that was pre-sprayed with shimmer spray. I used the “oh my stars!” sentiment from CAS-ual Fridays and the “it’s your birthday” sentiment from Paper Trey Ink’s Ways to Say: Birthday. I stamped the sentiments in black Versafine ink and clear heat embossed it. Around the sentiment I added black Nuvo Drops and used foam tape to add it to the panel. The entire finished panel was cut down to fit on a top folding note card with a piece of craft foam in between.

card6.PNG

Thank you for stopping by and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

