After a While Crocodile

 

card1

Do you not just love this cute little croc from Heffy Doodle Stamps?! He makes me smile when I look at him and the sentiment will be just perfect for my little girls’ teachers.

In honor of the 30 Day Coloring Challenge, I colored up a ton of Heffy Doodle critters. The next few posts will be the final products as I pull them into cards. In under an hour, I had 16 critters colored and cut – Heffy Doodle makes it so easy with the coordinating dies!

To start, I used a watermarker friendly ink (Ranger Archival Ink – Black) to stamp the initial images and heatset the ink to ensure it wouldn’t smudge. Using my Zig markers, I colored in my croc. Again, I heatset the image. With my Wink of Stella pen, I added some shimmer to the entire image. Can you guess? Again, I heatset the image. I then used a Versafine black ink pad and restamped the croc image. This provided me with a crispy black result on the image after all that shimmer and color. Just love the dark line around the coloring. Over the top of the croc’s eyes, I used my Sakura Black Glaze Gel Pen for some shine.

card3

For the background, I busted out my Tim Hotlz Distressed Oxide inks in Lucky Clover and Faded Jean. To get the clean and very tidy corner, I used Post-It Tape to mask off the corner of my 4.25×5.5 carstock panel. Once the background was inked up I heatset it to ensure the ink was dry – oxide inks stay wet for a long time due to their unique properties. As a way of double checking the ink was dry, I covered the panel in white heat embossing powder to see if it stuck. If it did, I could simply brush it away and heatset the panel again.

Using my Misti, I stamped my sentiment in black Versafine ink and coated it in clear embossing powder. Added a few green sequins, popped up my croc with foam tape and adhered the entire trimmed down panel to a top folding tan notecard.

card2

Ba-da-bing! A super cute croc card. Hope you have a snappy day!

 

 

6 thoughts on “After a While Crocodile

Leave a Reply

